ITG organizational news: nominations for ITG Honorary Award and ITG Award of Merit

ITG is asking for nominations for the ITG Honorary Award and Award of Merit. Read more for details of the awards.

The ITG Honorary Award is given to individuals who have made extraordinary contributions to the art of trumpet playing through performance, teaching, publishing, research, and/or composition. The tradition has been to award persons toward the end of their careers. Honorary Award recipients include Herb Alpert, Maurice André, Louis Armstrong, Mel Broiles, Clifford Brown, Vincent Cichowicz, Miles Davis, Roger Delmotte, Timofei Dokshizer, Maynard Ferguson, Armando Ghitalla, Harry Glantz, Adolph Herseth, Robert King, Clifford Lillya, Rafael Méndez, Fred Mills, Maurice Murphy, Robert Nagel, Uan Rasey, Ronald Romm, Renold Schilke, Charles Schlueter, Doc Severinsen, Susan Slaughter, Edward Tarr, Clark Terry, William Vacchiano, and Roger Voisin.

The ITG Award of Merit is given to those individuals who have made substantial contributions to the art of trumpet playing through performance, teaching, publishing, research, composition, and/or support of the goals of the International Trumpet Guild. Award of Merit recipients include William Adam, Donald Bullock, Richard Burkhart, Leonard Candelaria, Stephen Chenette, Charles Colin, Raymond Crisara, Joyce Davis, Vincent DiMartino, Kim Dunnick, Bengt Eklund, Stephen Glover, Bryan Goff, Charles Gorham, Anne Hardin, John Haynie, David Hickman, Keith Johnson, Stephen Jones, Frank Kaderabek, Veniamin Margolin, Gordon Mathie, Rob Roy McGregor, Gilbert Mitchell, James Olcott, William Pfund, Jeffrey Piper, Leon Rapier, Carole Dawn Reinhart, Dennis Schneider, Anatoly Selianin and Gordon Webb.

To nominate someone who has made a significant contribution to the trumpet world, send the nominee’s biography and a rationale for his/her nomination to ITG Secretary John Irish, Department of Visual and Performing Arts, Angelo State University, ASU Station, Box 10906, San Angelo, TX 76909-6909 (email [email protected]).

Take advantage of what ITG has to offer: